I dreamt a precious dream

Of powdered nights in spring

Just us upon a moonbeam

Along the clouds, gliding

From heaven so it seemed

In puppy love we landed

That feeling felt redeemed

Renewed in sleepy mind

Do you remember when

We touched for the first time

Down by the cotton gin

And warmed the wintertime

Oh, how I miss the way

The snowdrift caught your eyes

Oh, how I miss the day

We danced on lullabyes

Times were different then

We could never be alone

Things were better when

We left some things unknown

You read a self-writ poem

Before our friends one night

At dusk you walked me home

And kissed me under starlight

That was the sweetest kiss

I’ve felt in all my years

Cherished dreams of bliss

Come morning disappears

Oh, how I miss the way

The starlight caught your eyes

Oh, how I miss the day

We danced on lullabyes

We sat there snuggled tight

Upon a cloud together

All the way ’til sunlight

Our cares light as a feather

Sometime before the dawn

Trembling new discovery

Our innocence now gone

Beneath a willow tree

Modern times can’t measure

I’m glad we got it right

Sequestering our treasure

Of love we found one night

Oh, how I miss the way

The moonlight caught your eyes

Oh, how I miss the day

We danced on lullabyes

Cherished memory of your smile

How you clutched me like a doll

Let’s sleep a little while

In love again to fall

You’ve always been a friend

Our times I don’t regret

My friend you’ll never end

No, I will not forget

I’ve loved you for so long

Yet it feels like yesterday

I promise I’ll be strong

Now that you’ve passed away

Oh, how I miss the way

Your light caught my eyes

Oh, how I miss the day

We danced on lullabyes

7 thoughts on “Forever On A Lullabye

Leave a Reply

